MEREDITH JAEGER

Click here to edit subtitle

For readers of Lucinda Riley, Sarah Jio, or Susan Meissner, this gripping historical debut novel tells the story of two women: one, an immigrant seamstress who disappears from San Francisco’s gritty streets in 1876, and the other, a writer in present day who must delve into the secrets of her husband’s wealthy family only to discover that she and the missing dressmaker might be connected in unexpected ways.


“In this deliciously satisfying tale of love and resilience, Meredith Jaeger sweeps us into nineteenth century San Francisco, painting harrowing images of poverty alongside excesses of wealth, weaving a multi-generational novel impossible to put down.” — Lori Nelson Spielman, New York Times bestselling author of The Life List and Sweet Forgiveness


“Meredith Jaeger deftly intertwines two tales of love and loyalty and the vast lengths to which some will go to protect those they hold dear. A compelling debut novel that sent me racing to its final, revealing pages.” — Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Lost


“Jaeger’s debut sends readers quickly and completely into San Francisco’s history. Hanna, Margaret, and Sarah are the perfect storytellers, young women determined to find their place in the world. This gripping read is a satisfying exploration of the timeless nature of love and resilience.” — Booklist (starred review)


“Blending the past and present together through strong descriptions and colorful, exciting characters, Jaeger creates and engrossing novel. Readers will be captivated by her voice, that of a good old-fashioned storyteller.” — RT Book Reviews